The "Cevennes" of the "Gard"

A geographical context of exception

 

  • Le village de Pompignan

The "Cevennes" is a mythical place. A land that men have conquered shaped consistently. With which they negotiated too. This results in unique landscapes. You will be seized by the harmony of these terraces won on the slope or the delicate balance of housing in their environment. You will discover a civilization of silk and mulberry, culture chestnut and sweet onion, perennial traditions and a strong sense of freedom. In this country, historical Protestant refuge, you will be better than anywhere else.

From 1567 meters of Mont-Aigoual, the top of the department, the last foothills rebounds licking the southern plains, the « Cevennes » landscapes are those that carry you. Following the valleys let tumbling towards the sea, you will love the authenticity and vitality of charming towns. Le Vigan, Valleraugue, Saint-Jean-du-Gard, Anduze, Alès Génolhac or Portes with its majestic castle seduce you with their rich heritage and numerous festive and cultural events. Lower, highly dynamic Saint-Hippolyte-du-Fort, Sauve, Quissac Vézénobres or wrap you in their way of life.

In the wake of a registered territory as a World Heritage by UNESCO, you will fill you with extraordinary sites (cirque de Navacelles, Causse de Blandas, Parc national des Cévennes…) but also to adventure on one of the many historic National Trails. Even more amazing, family, the steam train of the « Cevennes », the Bamboo, the mine of Ales of control, the museum of silk or the conservatory of the fork, among the many sights and museums, enroll in you unforgettable memories.

 


Sources :

http://www.tourismegard.com/accueil/decouvrir/ses-territoires/cevennes

Les Cévennes Gardoises

Un contexte géographique d’exception

 

  • Le village de Pompignan

Les Cévennes, c’est un endroit mythique. Une terre que les hommes ont conquise, façonnée avec constance. Avec laquelle ils ont négocié aussi. Il en résulte des paysages uniques. Vous y serez saisis par l’harmonie de ces terrasses gagnées sur la pente ou par l’équilibre subtil des habitations dans leur environnement. Vous découvrirez une civilisation de la soie et du murier, une culture du châtaignier et de l’oignon doux, des traditions vivaces et un sens affirmé de la liberté. En ce pays de caractère, refuge historique des protestants, vous serez mieux que nulle part ailleurs.

Des 1567 mètres du Mont-Aigoual, sommet du département, aux derniers rebonds du piémont léchant la plaine méridionale, les paysages cévenols sont de ceux qui vous transportent. En suivant les vallées des Gardons qui dégringolent vers la mer, vous serez conquis par l’authenticité et le dynamisme de charmantes villes. Le Vigan, Valleraugue, Saint-Jean-du-Gard, Anduze, Alès, Génolhac ou Portes et son majestueux château, vous séduiront avec leur riche patrimoine et de nombreux événements festifs et culturels. Plus bas, les très dynamiques Saint-Hippolyte-du-Fort, Sauve, Quissac ou Vézénobres vous envelopperont de leur douceur de vivre.

Dans le sillage d’un territoire inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité par l’Unesco, vous pourrez vous rassasier de sites extraordinaires (cirque de Navacelles, Causse de Blandas, Parc national des Cévennes…) mais aussi partir à l’aventure sur l’un des multiples chemins historiques de grande randonnée. Encore plus étonnants en famille, le Train à vapeur des Cévennes, la Bambouseraie, la mine témoin d’Alès, le musée de la soie ou le conservatoire de la fourche, parmi les nombreux sites et musées, inscriront en vous des souvenirs inoubliables.

 


Sources :

http://www.tourismegard.com/accueil/decouvrir/ses-territoires/cevennes